Magarey Medal for Biography

The Magarey Medal for Biography is awarded biennially to the female person who has published the work judged to be the best biographical writing on an Australian subject.

The Magarey Medal will be awarded next in July 2024 for a book published in 2022 or 2023.

Applications will open mid 2023.

Terms and conditions

Nominations are invited for a published biography in the form of a book on an Australian subject by a female author in the two years prior to the year of the award. Nominations may be made either by the author or, with the nominee’s permission, by the book’s publishers or by any member of the Australian Historical Association (AHA) or the Association for the Study of Australian Literature (ASAL).

The award will be presented at the conference of AHA or the ASAL in alternate years. If two winners are chosen, the prize will be shared between them.


Authors must be female, and co-authored books with males are not eligible. Works of autobiography are also not eligible for the Magarey Medal. Please contact the AHA if you wish to clarify eligibility.


An intention to submit should be emailed prior to the application deadline, to intention to submit email, outlining the author, title and publisher of the nominated text, should be sent prior to the application deadline, to the AHA Executive Officer, by 30 September 2023.

Applications must include a completed application form and three copies of the nominated work. Completed applications can be sent to:

Executive Officer, AHA

PO Box 1118

Downer, ACT 2602 

Closing date for applications will be 31 January in the year of the Award.

Selection process

The awarding of the prize is administered and judged by a panel of three judges established by the AHA and the ASAL. The judges’ decision is final.

Previous winners