Ernest Scott Prize

Please note that this prize is administered by the Faculty of Arts, University of Melbourne.

The Ernest Scott Prize for History is awarded annually to the book judged to be the most distinguished contribution to the history of Australia or New Zealand or to the history of colonisation published in the previous year.

The Prize is based on a bequest given to the History Department of the University of Melbourne by Mrs Emily Scott in memory of her husband, Sir Ernest Scott, who held a professorship in the department for 23 years, to commemorate in particular his interest in the development of Australian historical studies.

Entries close 31 December each year.