Ann Curthoys Prize

The Ann Curthoys Prize is awarded for the best unpublished article-length work by an Early Career Researcher (within 5 years of PhD conferral) in any one or combination of the following fields in which Ann has published: 

  • Australian history
  • feminist history
  • Indigenous history
  • transnational/comparative/colonial history
  • history and theory

The Prize honours the varied work and dedicated service to the historical profession of Professor Ann Curthoys; it is generously funded by Ann and Macquarie University, where Ann completed her PhD.

Applications are currently closed. The Prize will be awarded annually at the AHA AGM or annual Conference.

Terms and Conditions

The winner will be awarded:

  • $750 in prize money
  • A citation, presented annually at the AHA national conference.

In addition to the Prize the winning entry will be considered for publication in History Australia – the journal of the Australian Historical Association.


At the time of submission, the article must not be under review by any journal other than History Australia.

Applicants must be members of the AHA at the time of submission.

Applicants must by an Early Career Researcher (within 5 years of the conferral of their PhD as of 3 May 2021).


Submissions should be 8,000-10,000 including references and abstract. They should be double-spaced and anonymous.

Applicants are required to provide:

  • A digital copy of their work
  • A completed entry form that contains a statement from the author confirming the originality of the work and their eligibility

Applications and queries should be emailed to the Editorial Assistant of History

Applications are now open.

Selection Process

The judges will include one editor from History Australia and one member of the editorial board. Their decision will be final.

Previous Winners