Kay Daniels Award

The Kay Daniels Award is a biennial prize recognising outstanding original research with a bearing on Australian convict history and heritage including in its international context. In accordance with Kay Daniels’ values, it is to be an international award.

The Award honours the contribution to the study and writing of history in Australia of Dr Kay Daniels. Kay Daniels (1941–2001) taught at the University of Tasmania from 1967 to 1987 and subsequently served with distinction in the Commonwealth Public Service, Canberra, in the areas of cultural policy and intellectual property rights.

This Award is sponsored by members and associates of the Australian Historical Association, the University of Tasmania and the Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority.

The next Kay Daniels Award will be made in July 2024.

Applications closed 31 January 2024.

Terms and conditions

The Award is a biennial award.  It consists of a cash prize of $1500 and a citation, presented at every second AHA Conference.

Eligible entries will be in the form of published work, either a monograph, a series of related journal articles or, in the case of heritage studies, a substantial consultant’s report.


Submitted works must have appeared in print in the three years preceding the year of the award.


An intention to submit email, outlining the author, title and publisher of the nominated text, should be sent prior to the application deadline, to the AHA Executive Officer, executive@theaha.org.au ASAP.

Applications must include a completed application form that contains a statement from the author confirming the originality of the work and three copies of the nominated work.

The AHA strives to conduct its activities sustainably. Please note that, subject to the preference of the judging panel, this prize may require digital submissions, hard copy submissions, or a combination thereof, in order to reduce its environmental impact. 

Closing date for applications will be 31 January in the year of the Award.

Selection process

The Daniels Award will be administered by a judging panel appointed by the Australian Historical Association to consist of one representative each from the University of Tasmania, Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority (PAHSMA) and the AHA. The decision of the panel will be final.

Previous winners