Les Carlyon Literary Prize

The Australian War Memorial announces the establishment of the Les Carlyon Literary Prize. 

This biennial prize is dedicated to the memory of Mr Les Carlyon AC, the historian, author, journalist, and long serving member of the Council of the Australian War Memorial. In recognition of his literary legacy, the Memorial has initiated the Les Carlyon Literary Prize, intended to encourage and support emerging writers. It will be awarded for an author’s first major publication relating to Australian military history, social military history, or war history.  

Entries will be open to works of fiction and non-fiction published in 2018–20. The author of the winning work will receive a prize of $10,000. 

Applications due 30 June 2020 

Further information