Congratulations to shortlisted authors for the NSW Premier’s History Awards 2019

Congratulations to the shortlisted authors for the NSW Premier’s History Awards 2019, including AHA members:

Australian History Prize:

Ann Curthoys and Jessie Mitchell, Taking Liberty: Indigenous Rights and Settler-Self-Government in Colonial Australia, 1830-1890

Meredith Lake, The Bible in Australia: A Cultural History

Laura Rademaker, Found in Translation: Many Meanings on a North Australian Mission

General History Prize:

Ian Gow and Stuart Kells, The Big Four: The Curious Past and Perilous Future of the Global Accounting Monopoly

Marilyn Lake, Progressive New World: How Settler Colonialism and Transpacific Exchange Shaped American Reform

Christina Thompson, Sea People: The Puzzle of Polynesia

NSW Regional and Community History Prize:

Sarah Luke, Callun Park, Hospital for the Insane

Julie McIntyre and John Germov, Hunter Wine: A History

Jon Rhodes, Cage of Ghosts

Young People’s History Prize:

Kaye Baillie and Narelda Joy, Message in a Sock

Alison Lloyd and Terry Denton, The Upside-down History of Down Under

Anita Selzer, I Am Sasha

Digital History Prize:

Lorena Allum, Nick Evershed, Carly Earl, Paul Daley, Andy Ball, Ciaran O’Mahoney, Jeremy Nadel and the University of Newcastle Colonial Massacres Research Team, Guardian Australia’s series The Killing Times

Catherine Freyne, Scott McKinnon and Mark Don, The Making of Mardi Gras 1979-81 and Mardi Gras Supernova 2002-03

Martin Thomas and Beatrice Bijon, Etched in Bone

Winners will be announced 30 August 2019

Further information