Congratulations to our AHA member winners of the NSW Premier’s History Awards!

The AHA is very pleased to congratulate the following members.

Australian First World War History Prize, joint winner: Carolyn Holbrook, Anzac, the Unauthorised Biography (NewSouth Books)

General History Prize winner: Warwick Anderson and Ian R Mackay, Intolerant Bodies: A Short History of Autoimmunity (Johns Hopkins University Press)

New South Wales Community and Regional History Prize winner: Babette Smith, The Luck of the Irish: How a Shipload of Convicts Survived the Wreck of the Hive to Make a New Life in Australia (Allen & Unwin)

Full list of winers.

Warwick Anderson is the only historian to have won this award twice, the previous award being in 2009 for The Collectors of Lost Souls (John Hopkins University Press). Warwick’s co-author Ian Mackay, one of the prominent founders of clinical immunology, is at the age of 93 surely the oldest author to win any major book prize in Australia.

Carolyn Holbrook’s Anzac, the Unauthorised Biography (NewSouth Books) has also been shortlisted for the 2015 CHASS Australia Book Prize. More information about the CHASS prize.