AHA2018 Awards and Prizes Shortlists

The Australian Historical Association is delighted to announce the shortlists for its 2018 prizes and awards. Winners will be announced on Thursday 5 July 2018.


The W.K. Hancock Prize recognises and encourages an Australian scholar who has published a first book in any field of history in 2016 or 2017. The $2,000 prize was instituted in 1987 by the AHA to honour the contribution to the study and writing of history in Australia by Sir Keith Hancock.
  • Miranda Johnson. The Land Is Our History: Indigeneity, Law, and the Settler State
  • Jessica Lake, The face that launched a thousand lawsuits: the American women who forged a right to privacy
  • Tristan Moss, Guarding the periphery : the Australian Army in Papua New Guinea, 1951-75
  • Jayne Persian, Beautiful Balts: From displaced persons to new Australians


The Serle Award is given biennially to the best postgraduate thesis in Australian History awarded during the previous two years. The $2,500 prize was established through the generosity of Mrs Jessie Serle to honour the contribution to Australian history of her former husband, Dr Geoffrey Serle.
  • Steven Anderson Death of a Spectacle: The Transition from Public to Private Executions in Colonial Australia
  • Alexis Bergantz French Connection: The culture and politics of Frenchness in Australia, 1890-1914
  • Justine Greenwood Welcome to Australia: Intersections between immigration and tourism in Australia, 1945-2015
  • Jessica Hodgens Colonial Violence and Ethics: Resisting Settler Colonial Erasure on Dja Dja Wurrung Country
  • Justine Philip Representing the Dingo: An Examination of Dingo–Human Encounters in Australian Culture and Environmental Heritage
  • Anne Rees Travelling to Tomorrow: Australian women in the United States, 1910–1960


The Kay Daniels Award recognises outstanding original research with a bearing on Australian convict history and heritage including in its international context, published between 2015-2018. The $1,500 prize is sponsored by members and associates of the Australian Historical Association, the University of Tasmania, and the Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority.
  • Kristyn Harman, Cleansing the Colony: Transporting Convicts from New Zealand to Van Diemen’s Land
  • Joan Kavanagh and Dianne Snowden, Van Diemen’s Women: A History of Transportation to Tasmania
  • Anne McMahon, Floating Prisons: Irish Convict Hulks and Voyages to New South Wales 1823-1837


The Magarey Medal for Biography is awarded biennially to the female person who has published the work judged to be the best biographical writing on an Australian subject. It is jointly administered by the Australian Historical Association and the Association for the Study of Australian Literature (ASAL).
  • Bernadette Brennan, A Writing Life: Helen Garner and Her Work
  • Judith Brett, The Enigmatic Mr Deakin
  • Suzanne Falkiner, Mick: A Life of Randolph Stow
  • Cathy McLennan, Saltwater: An Epic Fight for Justice in the Tropics
  • Alexis Wright, Tracker

Allan Martin Award Jill Roe Award

There is no short-list for the Allan Martin Award and the Jill Roe Award.  The winners of which will be announced on the night