2020 AHA Awards and Prizes Winners

The Australian Historical Association was delighted to announce the winners of its 2020 annual and biennial prizes and awards on Thursday 2 July 2020 at the AHA Annual General Meeting.

(Click on links to read judges’ citations.)

The Jill Roe Prize is awarded annually for the best unpublished article-length work of historical research in any area of historical enquiry, produced by a postgraduate student enrolled for a History degree at an Australian university.

The Allan Martin Award is a research fellowship to assist early career historians further their research in Australian history.

The Ann Curthoys Prize is awarded for the best unpublished article-length work by an Early Career Researcher in any one or combination of the fields in which Ann has published

The Marian Quartly Prize is for the best article published in the AHA’s journal History Australia in a calendar year.

The Serle Award is given biennially to the best postgraduate thesis in Australian History awarded during the previous two years.

The Kay Daniels Award recognises outstanding original research with a bearing on Australian convict history and heritage including in its international context, published in 2018 or 2019.

The Magarey Medal for Biography is awarded biennially to the female person who has published the work judged to be the best biographical writing on an Australian subject. It is jointly administered by the Australian Historical Association and the Association for the Study of Australian Literature (ASAL).

The W.K. Hancock Prize recognises and encourages an Australian scholar who has published a first book in any field of history in 2018 or 2019.