The AHA welcomes Professor Matthew Fitzpatrick to the Executive Committee

Message from the President, Professor Frank Bongiorno

I would like to inform members that a casual vacancy on the AHA Executive Committee has been filled in recent days. One of our hard-working Prizes and Awards portfolio managers, Professor Christina Twomey, has resigned from the Executive to better focus on her important work as Chief Research Officer at the Australian Research Council. We all benefit from Christina’s standing as an academic and appointment to this critical position. On behalf of the AHA Executive Committee, I would like to thank Christina for her service to the AHA through the Executive Committee over the past twelve months.  

I would like to welcome Professor Matthew Fitzpatrick (Flinders University), to the Executive Committee. Matt is an outstanding historian of modern European and German imperial history, who will bring valuable experience and expertise to the activities of the AHA. He will join with Professor Jane Lydon and Dr Carolyn Holbrook in administering our large prizes and fellowships portfolio. Our thanks to Christina, and a warm welcome to Matt!