2024 AHA Prizes and Awards Shortlists

The AHA Executive Committee is delighted to announce the shortlists for the 2024 AHA prizes and awards. The prizes portfolio administrators would like to thank the various judging panels who have been hard at work in recent months. The winners of each prize will be announced at the AHA conference dinner on Thursday 4 July 2024 in Adelaide. (The following shortlists are in alphabetical order of surname.)

Allan Martin Award

Research fellowship for early-career historians

Niro Kandasamy – Managing Conflicts, Making the Indian Ocean World: Examining Australian Responses to Conflicts in the Indian Ocean during the Twentieth Century

Ebony Nilsson – Russians Among Us: A Cultural History of the Petrov Affair

Jessica Urwin – Following the ‘Yellowcake Road’: Tracing the imperial roots and routes of Australian uranium, 1940s-1960s

General History Thesis Prize

Best postgraduate thesis in History (excluding Australian history)

Paige Donaghy – Uncertain Knowledge: False Conceptions and Molas in European Medicine, 1500–1800

Divya Rama Gopalakrishnan – Venereal Diseases and Bodily Excesses: A Social History of Contagions in the Madras Presidency (c. 1780 to 1900)

Henry-James Meiring – Reading Morals: Charles Darwin and the Descent of Morality

Jill Roe Prize

Best unpublished article-length work of historical research by a postgraduate student

Ruby Ekkel – ‘Better the devil you know: care and conservation at Beaumaris Zoo, 1908-1921′

Narissa Phelps – ‘The Gates of the Inclosure [sic] have been left open, and the Paling torn down’: Australia’s own Enclosure Movement

Zoe Smith – ‘Domestic tyranny’ and ‘petty despotism’: Historicising coercive control in late-nineteenth- and early-twentieth-century Australia

Kay Daniels Award

Original research with a bearing on Australian convict history and heritage

Clare Anderson – Convicts: A Global History

Anna JohnstonThe Antipodean Laboratory: Making Colonial Knowledge, 1770-1870

Magarey Medal for Biography

Best biographical writing on an Australian subject by a woman author

Meg FosterBoundary Crossers: The Hidden History of Australia’s Other Bushrangers

Kate FullagarBennelong & Phillip: A History Unravelled

Jillian GrahamInner Song: A Biography of Margaret Sutherland

Brigitta OlubasShirley Hazzard: A Writing Life

Ann-Marie PriestMy Tongue Is My Own: A Life of Gwen Harwood

Serle Award

Best postgraduate thesis in Australian history

Rosa Campbell – A Global History of Australian Women’s Liberation, 1968-1990

Emily Gallagher – The Childhood Imagination in Australia, 1890 to 1940

Matthew Ryan – ‘Our land abounds in nature’s gifts’: Commodity frontiers, Australian capitalism, and socioecological crisis

Jessica Urwin – Chain Reactions: Nuclear Colonialism in South Australia

W.K. Hancock Prize

First scholarly book in any field of history

Aditya BalasubramanianToward a Free Economy: Swatantra and Opposition Politics in Democratic India

Isobelle Barrett-MeyeringFeminism and the Making of a Child Rights Revolution

Jarrod HoreVisions of Nature: How Landscape Photography Shaped Settler Colonialism

Walter MarshYoung Rupert: The Making of the Murdoch Empire

Alecia SimmondsCourting: An Intimate History of Love and the Law

The AHA warmly congratulates all of these wonderful historians on their outstanding achievements, which we look forward to celebrating in July. We also congratulate and thank all those who applied for this year’s prizes and recognise the time and care they have invested in their work.