2023 NSW Premier’s History Awards

The AHA warmly congratulates all recipients of the 2023 NSW Premier’s History Awards. The following winners were announced and celebrated at the State Library of NSW on 7 September 2023: 

  • The Australian History Prize: Alan Atkinson, Elizabeth and John: The Macarthurs of Elizabeth Farm (NewSouth) 
  • The General History Prize: Michael Frances Laffan, Under Empire: Muslim Lives and Loyalties Across the Indian Ocean World, 1775—1945 (Columbia University Press) 
  • The NSW Community and Regional History Prize: Ian Hodges, He Belonged to Wagga: The Great War, the AIF and Returned Soldiers in an Australian Country Town (Australian Scholarly Publishing) 
  • Young People’s History Prize: Emily Gale, The Goodbye Year (Text) 
  • Digital History Prize: Rachel Perkins, Darren Dale, Jacob Hickey and Don Watson, The Australian Wars, Episode 1 (Blackfella Films) 
  • Anzac Memorial Trustees Military History Prize: June Factor, Soldiers and Aliens: Men in the Australian Army’s Employment Companies During World War II (Melbourne University Publishing) 

The AHA congratulates all winners and pays tribute to all the shortlisted nominees.  

Further information